ELMER L. JENKINS AWARD

The Elmer L. Jenkins award will be presented to an individual Kansas VFW member who has been or is active as a Post, District or State Quartermaster and/or Post, District or State Adjutant.

Qualifications and nominating forms will be emailed the latter part of February and completed forms must be received at Department Headquarters no later than the deadline on the form.

The award will be presented at the 2017 Department Convention banquet.

The Elmer L. Jenkins award, this year's winner will be the 39th, was also started by the encouragement of his family to honor adjutants or quartermaster that had proven themselves over a significant period of time. Elmer L. Jenkins was the first Adjutant/Quartermaster from the State of Kansas with his term running from 1933 to 1943 as adjutant and from 1934 to 1944 as guartermaster. The first Elmer L. Jenkins award winner was Bob Whipple in 1979.

The work for these awards can be done at the Post, District, or Department levels or a combination of two or all three. There have been six double winners with Clyde Hatcher being the first and Lewie Cooper being the latest.

For your convenience, a list is provided of previous winners.

R.R. (Bob) Whipple
Merlin (Lucky) Ware
Jay Ritchie
Quentin McConnell
Clyde Hatcher
Richard Seib
Howard R. Dobson
William Owens
Harold Burenheide
Dale Murphy
Barney Aldridge
Roger Sellers
Louis Windholz
Donald Frier

Willis J. Ross
John Hollandsworth
Elmer Fairbank
Carl Fellers
Sidney George
Glen Miller
Larry Graham
James Perona
Lawrence Tholen
Charles Mum
Lorene Hake
Thomas Sanko
Emery Wille
Darrell Bencken

John Berkley
Vernon Koehn
Joe Wahrman
Harold Denholm
Herb Schwartzkopf
James Graham
Tom Farr
David Cuba
Robin Ray
Lewie Cooper